Become the citizen banker of HO KARAN from 300€

Become the citizen banker of HO KARAN from 300€

I created HO KARAN 7 years ago with the mission of de-stress humans and the planet thanks to the incredible properties of hemp. I am very proud of what we have built with the team: products seminars - whose effectiveness is clinically proven - a massage studio in Paris, a podcast @hokalm to deconstruct stress, a union to develop the French hemp industry...
None of this would be possible without you, who have been following us since our first crowdfunding campaign in 2015 on Ulule. This great adventure is only possible because together we form a solid team full of confidence, patience and enthusiasm. Because yes, it is you who give, through your orders, the dimension of our adventure and who thus develop our sector, we are very grateful to you.

This year we are going to meet you, by creating the HO KARAN center, the very first place entirely dedicated to serenity and made entirely of hemp. It is a real haven of peace of more than 100m2, rue de Bretagne (obviously) in the tourist and trendy district of Marshes, in Paris. You can find our products there of course, but also discover the benefits of hemp food, enjoying the spa, or a workshop on stress management.

We have had the honor for 2 years now to benefit from the patronage of the architectural firm RDAI (which counts among its prestigious clients the Hermès house) which was seduced by our ambition for a high-end but ecological place thanks to with hemp. They accompany us in the architectural R&D of this center to offer you innovative and biodegradable materials: hemp parquet, hemp marble, 100% hemp vegetable plastic, we have many surprises in store for you… hemp!

This extraordinary project requires 400K€ of investment. We financed 100K€ with equity and raised 300K€ in bonds to complete: It's there that you intervene !

Why did you choose to finance us on LITA.co?

If the motto of HO KARAN is "no stress for all", that of LITA.co is "investment for all". Lita democratizes citizen and responsible investment, allowing everyone, whatever their means, to save and invest knowing precisely what their money will be used for. Their observation is simple: if we care more and more about our consumption patterns, we underestimate the impact of what finances our savings, this money placed on your Livret A, life insurance or PEA. However, hang in there, 40% of our individual carbon footprint is due to our financial investments! Do you know that without our being consulted by our bankers, 5 billion euros of our savings are invested each year in armaments, fossil fuels and coal-fired power stations? Lita allows citizens to regain control over the impact of their savings, while making it easy and transparent. Thanks to Lita, borrowing, usually the prerogative of banks, can also become that of citizens.

 

Obligations ? What is that ?

It's like a loan that you grant to HO KARAN, which you are reimbursed once a year for 5 years with an annual interest rate of 6% on the capital remaining due (vs 1% with a Livret A) . When we know that inflation is currently at 4%, it is urgent to study the profitability of our investments!

Concretely, how is it going for you? You lend HO KARAN an amount between €300 and €300K depending on your means. Each year, you will receive your interest (6%) as well as 1/5 of your investment. Everything will be fully reimbursed after 5 years.

 

How to participate ?

No need to be a finance tycoon to get started: the minimum ticket is €300. Yes, even with 300€, you can make a transparent and much better paying investment than a booklet A. Too much for you? So don't invest. Respond to our Great Study of Stress, buying our treatments, telling us how to improve them, following us on social networks, it's already helping us a lot. You can also share this article on Facebook, Twitter or Linkedin.

For others, everything is easily done online on the site of Lita.co.

No stress if the words “sustainable investment”, “convertible bonds”, “fundraising” etc… are coded language for you, we are here with LITA.co to explain everything to you. If you have any questions, you can already contact Salambo after creating your profile, who will be available to answer you. 👉 HELP Salambo, enlighten me!

 

A very detailed FAQ is also available below on this same page.

 

You can't imagine how we can't wait to welcome you rue de Bretagne!

Trugarez, as they say among the Bretons!

Laure, the founder, and the HO KARAN team.


Answers to all your questions

1/ Why take out a loan?

Our product development cycles and working capital requirements are very long (more than 12 months). We achieved 50% growth between 2020 and 2021 despite the complicated context linked to covid and the vagaries of retail. We must therefore mobilize cash for a very long time upstream of sales to carry out our productions.

When you open a care center, entirely made of hemp, heavy investments are added to this already millimetric management of cash. In our case, it is more than 400K€ of additional investments. We financed part of it with our own funds, and today we need to find a relay by borrowing, which we can quite naturally repay with the profits generated by the centre.

 

2/ Why obtain financing from citizens rather than from banks?

Historically HO KARAN has been financed through bank loans! In 2015 while still a student in Nantes, Laure launched the brand with a €15K student loan, €25K regional honorary loan and a €50K loan from Crédit Mutuel de Bretagne. This is what made it possible to carry out the R&D of our first hemp products and to market them.

Since 2018 and the massive opening of stores specializing in the sale of cbd-derived products, banks have become reluctant to finance hemp companies, wanting the status of the CBD molecule to be clarified in France. This clarification took place on November 19, 2020 in case C-663/18, known as Kanavape, the Court of Justice of the European Union considered that in the state of scientific knowledge and on the basis of the international conventions in force, cannabidiol (CBD ) did not constitute a narcotic product and that the French State should therefore authorize its free circulation. French banks have unfortunately still not updated their borrowing policies, despite the very strong appetite of customers for this type of product and the success many companies in the sector.

We therefore did not have access to the PGE, the loans guaranteed by the State released from the first confinement, nor to the loans from the Public Investment Bank which are very good support for young companies.

After doing a lot of educationn with hemp banking players, Laure ended up saying to herself “and why not ALSO innovate on financing, and appeal to citizen investment?”. We therefore offer you a new challenge: directly finance the development of the French hemp industry by remunerating your savings. To do this, we had to find a player who would allow us to manage the operation very well financially and legally and who corresponded to our values! That's how we discovered Lita.

 

3/ How does it actually work?

This citizen fundraiser is 100% transparent, 100% responsible and 100% online.

This fundraiser will last a month, we're in the starting blocks, we hope you are too!

1/ From now on, we are opening a “pre-collection” phase during which you submit your investment intention. No formal commitment, no transfer or payment but for the good of the project, we thank you for providing only the amounts that you are likely to honor (basically you “reserve your place” to become a co-investor of HO KARAN).

2/ Then within 3 weeks, a phase of confirmation of these intentions begins, with all the financial, tax and legal conditions of your investment at your disposal.

 

4/ Why did we choose the convertible bond mechanism (OCA) with Lita?

After discussion with Lita, we decided to carry out this loan via convertible bonds in shares (OCA). A complicated expression to designate a simple financial mechanism you will see!

A bond is a security of debt issued by a company. The subscriber of a bond pays for this security; in return, he receives annual interest. At the end of the contract, the company issuing the bond reimburses this debt security to the subscriber. A bond is said to be convertible when the debt security is accompanied by the possibility, for the subscriber, to exchange the bond for actions of the issuing company. In the case of HO KARAN you have a remuneration at an interest rate of 6% and a reimbursement in 5 years with an option to convert into shares.

The OCA, which therefore stands between debt and equity, is designated as quasi equity.

The issue of convertible bonds therefore has the advantage of injecting cash quickly to put water in the mill while waiting for a powerful boost (here the opening of our healthcare center ).

LITA.co only offers OCAs to mature SMEs and high-potential start-ups.

 

5/ Lending responsibly while collecting interest

If for entrepreneurs the OCA has its advantages, it is also an asset on the investor side. From the first year, the investment is remunerated by bond interest and also offers better prospects of profitability in the event of conversion. Indeed, capital gains in shares are neither limited nor predetermined. However, there remains a significant risk for the investor since uncertainties persist on the contours of the conversion (feasibility of the capital raising, valuation, identity of the co-investors and date of conversion are still unknown).

If no conversion finally takes place, the investors are remunerated according to the logic of the dry bond. Added to this is a non-conversion bonus, paid at the end of the repayment period, as compensation for the loss of potential capital gain. In the case of HO KARAN the non-conversion premium is 1%. It is added to the 6% interest.

 

6/ Do we want to convert bonds into shares?

If the center performs very well financially and can quickly repay the loan to the bondholders, we will not convert the bonds into shares, and we will pay you an additional non-conversion premium of 1%. We will not convert either if the HO KARAN company as a whole is brought in the next 18 months to raise capital funds to accelerate its growth.

 

7/ In which case could we choose the conversion?

If we need to strengthen our equity to, for example, access aid, subsidies or growth loans from the Banque Publique d'Investissement (BPI), which is in the process of modifying its policy hemp. In all cases, the conversion or not will be done in consultation with Lita, on criteria defined beforehand in the legal documentation that you will receive.

 

8/ What are the rights associated with OCAs?

A bond does not confer voting rights. As an investor, you are nevertheless regularly informed about the evolution of the company's financial situation.

 

9/ What communication will I get from HO KARAN?

We will communicate to our citizen investors our figures, our areas of development, our setbacks, our successes. And you, you will live an entrepreneurial experience alongside us, sharing your advice and encouragement.

 

10/ What are the guarantees on the Lita platform?

Labeled by Finansol, certified B-Corp, approved by AMF and registered as a Participatory Investment Advisor by theORIAS at number 15000159 dated January 09, 2015, LITA.co is both a recognized solidarity company of social utility (ESUS) and a benchmark for ethical investing. LITA.co's mission is to democratize responsible investment by directing the savings of individuals towards the financing of companies that bring social and sustainable innovations. The ambition is to participate actively and effectively in reducing inequalities by offering everyone the opportunity to give meaning to their savings and to invest in companies such as HO KARAN selected on criteria of social impact, responsibility and economic potential (more information here). To be able to carry out our fundraising on their platform, the Lita teams carried out a thorough and demanding audit of the financial situation, the development plan and the environmental and social impact of HO KARAN, then 2 committees validated our case. For 3 years, they have retained only 6% of candidate companies.

 

11/ I want to invest, why do I have to answer so many questions about my assets?

LITA.co is a participatory investment platform and not a donation platform like Ulule or Kiss Kiss Bank Bank. In this context, the platform is subject to banking regulations and its actions are regulated by the AMF (Financial Markets Authority). The data requested is strictly confidential and declarative. LITA.co has no obligation to verify the data. When registering, it is not mandatory to answer all the questions asked on the source of income and assets. You can absolutely express an investment intention without responding to it. But it will have to be answered if you want to have access to the investment file and when to invest.

Devenez le banquier citoyen de HO KARAN à partir de 300€

Devenez le banquier citoyen de HO KARAN à partir de 300€

J’ai créé HO KARAN il y a 7 ans avec pour mission de déstresser les humains et la planète grâce aux incroyables propriétés du chanvre. Je suis très fière de ce que nous avons construit avec l’équipe : des produits innovants - dont l’efficacité est prouvée cliniquement - un studio de massage à Paris, un podcast @hokalm pour déconstruire le stress, un syndicat pour développer la filière chanvrière française…
Tout ceci ne serait pas possible sans vous, qui nous suivez depuis notre première campagne de crowdfunding en 2015 sur Ulule. Cette grande aventure n'est possible que parce que nous formons ensemble une solide équipe pleine de confiance, de patience et d’enthousiasme. Car oui, c’est bien vous qui donnez, par vos commandes, la dimension de notre aventure et qui développez ainsi notre filière, nous vous en sommes très reconnaissants.

Cette année nous allons à votre rencontre, en créant le centre HO KARAN, le tout premier lieu entièrement dédié à la sérénité et réalisé tout en chanvre. C’est un véritable havre de paix de plus de 100m2, rue de Bretagne (évidemment) dans le quartier touristique et trendy du Marais, à Paris. Vous pourrez y trouver nos produits bien sûr, mais aussi découvrir les bienfaits de la nourriture en chanvre, profiter du spa, ou d’un atelier sur la gestion du stress.

Nous avons eu l’honneur depuis 2 ans maintenant de bénéficier du mécénat de l’agence d’architecture RDAI (qui compte parmi ses prestigieux clients la maison Hermès) qui a été séduite par notre ambition d’un lieu haut de gamme mais écologique grâce au chanvre. Ils nous accompagnent dans la R&D architecturale de ce centre pour vous proposer des matériaux innovants et biodégradables : parquet de chanvre, marbre de chanvre, plastique végétal 100% chanvre, nous vous réservons beaucoup de surprises… chanvrées !

Ce projet hors du commun nécessite 400K€ d’investissement. Nous en avons financé 100K€ sur fonds propres et levons 300K€ en obligations pour compléter : c’est là que vous intervenez !

Pourquoi avoir choisi de nous financer sur LITA.co ?

Si la devise de HO KARAN est « no stress for all », celle de LITA.co est « investment for all ». Lita démocratise l’investissement citoyen et responsable, en permettant à chacun, quels que soient ses moyens, d’épargner et d’investir en sachant précisément à quoi son argent servira. Leur constat est simple : si on se soucie de plus en plus de nos modes de consommation, on sous-estime l’impact de ce que finance notre épargne, cet argent placé sur votre Livret A, assurance vie ou PEA. Pourtant, accrochez-vous, 40% de notre empreinte carbone individuelle est dû à nos placements financiers ! Savez-vous que sans que nous soyons consultés par nos banquiers, 5 000 milliards d’euros de notre épargne est investi chaque année dans l’armement, les énergies fossiles et les centrales à charbon ? Lita permet aux citoyens de reprendre le contrôle sur l’impact de leur épargne, tout en rendant cela facile et transparent. Grâce à Lita, l’emprunt, habituellement l’apanage des banques, peut aussi devenir celui des citoyens.

 

Des obligations ? Qu’est ce que c’est ?

C’est comme un prêt que vous octroyez à HO KARAN, que l'on vous rembourse une fois par an pendant 5 ans avec un taux d’intérêt à 6% annuel sur le capital restant dû (vs 1% avec un Livret A). Quand on sait que l’inflation est actuellement à 4%, il est urgent d’étudier la rentabilité de noss placements !

Concrètement, comment cela se passe pour vous ? Vous prêtez à HO KARAN une somme comprise entre 300€ et 300K€ suivant vos moyens. Chaque année, vous recevrez vos intérêts (6%) ainsi qu’1/5 de votre placement. Le tout sera intégralement remboursé au bout de 5 ans.

 

Comment participer ?

Pas besoin d’être un magnat de la finance pour se lancer : le ticket minimum est de 300 €. Oui, même avec 300€, on peut faire un investissement transparent et bien mieux rémunérateur qu’un livret A. C’est trop pour vous ? Alors n’investissez pas. Répondre à notre Grande Etude du Stress, acheter nos soins, nous dire comment les améliorer, nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux, c’est déjà beaucoup nous aider. Vous pouvez aussi partager cet article sur Facebook, Twitter ou sur Linkedin.

Pour les autres, tout se fait facilement en ligne sur le site de Lita.co.

Pas de stress si les mots “investissement durable”, “obligations convertibles”, “levée de fonds” etc… sont du langage codé pour vous, nous sommes là avec LITA.co pour tout vous expliquer. Si vous avez la moindre question, vous pouvez d’ores et déjà contacter Salambo après avoir créé votre profil, qui sera disponible pour vous répondre. 👉 HELP Salambo, éclaire-moi !

 

Une FAQ très détaillée est également disponible ci-dessous sur cette même page.

 

Vous n’imaginez pas comme on a hâte de vous accueillir rue de Bretagne !

Trugarez, comme on dit chez les Bretons !

Laure, la fondatrice, et l’équipe HO KARAN.


Des réponses à toutes vos questions

1/ Pourquoi faire appel à l’emprunt ?

Nos cycles de développement de produits et notre besoin en fonds de roulement sont très longs (plus de 12 mois). On a fait 50% de croissance entre 2020 et 2021 malgré le contexte compliqué lié au covid et aux aléas du retail. Nous devons donc mobiliser très longtemps en amont des ventes de la trésorerie pour réaliser nos productions.

Quand on ouvre un centre de soin, entièrement fait en chanvre, de lourds investissements s’ajoutent à cette gestion déjà millimétrée de la trésorerie. Dans notre cas, il s'agit de plus de 400K€ d’investissements supplémentaires. On a financé une partie sur fonds propres, et il nous faut aujourd’hui trouver un relai par de l’emprunt, qu’on pourra tout naturellement rembourser avec les bénéfices générés par le centre.

 

2/ Pourquoi se financer auprès des citoyens plutôt qu’auprès des banques ?

Historiquement HO KARAN s’est financé grâce à de l’emprunt bancaire ! En 2015 alors qu’elle est encore étudiante à Nantes, Laure a lancé la marque avec 15K€ d’emprunt étudiant, 25K€ de prêt d’honneur régional et 50K€ d’emprunt auprès du Crédit Mutuel de Bretagne. C’est ce qui a permis de réaliser la R&D de nos premiers produits au chanvre et de les commercialiser.

Depuis 2018 et l’ouverture massive de magasins spécialisés dans la vente de produits dérivés du cbd, les banques sont devenues frileuses à financer les entreprises du chanvre, souhaitant que le statut de la molécule de CBD soit éclairci en France. Cet éclaircissement a eu lieu le 19 novembre 2020 dans l'affaire C-663/18, dite Kanavape, la Cour de justice de l'Union européenne a considéré qu'en l'état des connaissances scientifiques et sur la base des conventions internationales en vigueur, le cannabidiol (CBD) ne constituait pas un produit stupéfiant et que l’Etat français devait par conséquent autoriser sa libre circulation. Les banques françaises n’ont malheureusement toujours pas mis à jour leurs politiques d’emprunts, malgré l’appétence très forte des clients pour ce type de produits et le succès de nombreuses entreprises du secteur.

Nous n’avons donc pas eu accès aux PGE, les prêts garantis par l’Etat débloqués à partir du premier confinement, ni aux prêts de la Banque Publique d’Investissement qui sont de très bons appuis pour les jeunes entreprises.

Après avoir fait beaucoup d’éducation auprès des acteurs bancaires sur le chanvre, Laure a fini par se dire “et pourquoi pas innover AUSSI sur le financement, et faire appel à l’investissement citoyen ?”. Nous vous proposons donc un nouveau défi : financer directement le développement de la filière chanvrière française en rémunérant votre épargne. Pour cela il fallait trouver un acteur qui nous permettrait de très bien encadrer l’opération financièrement et juridiquement et qui corresponde à nos valeurs ! C’est ainsi qu’on a découvert Lita.

 

3/ Comment ça marche concrètement ?

Cette levée de fonds citoyenne est 100% transparente, 100% responsable et 100% en ligne.

Cette levée durera un mois tout pile, on est dans les starting blocs, on espère que vous aussi !

1/ Dès maintenant, on ouvre une phase de “pré-collecte” durant laquelle vous soumettez votre intention d’investissement. Aucun engagement formel, aucun virement ou paiement mais pour le bien du projet, nous vous remercions de renseigner uniquement des montants que vous serez susceptibles d'honorer (en gros vous “réservez votre place” pour devenir co-investisseur de HO KARAN).

2/ Puis d’ici 3 semaines s’ouvre une phase de confirmation de ces intentions, avec à votre disposition toutes les conditions financières, fiscales et juridiques de votre investissement.

 

4/ Pourquoi nous avons choisi avec Lita le mécanisme des obligations convertibles (OCA) ?

Après discussion avec Lita, nous avons décidé de réaliser cet emprunt via des obligations convertibles en actions (OCA). Une expression compliquée pour désigner un mécanisme financier simple vous verrez !

Une obligation est un titre de créance émis par une société. Le souscripteur d'une obligation paye ce titre ; en contrepartie, il bénéficie d'un intérêt annuel. Au terme du contrat, la société émettrice de l'obligation rembourse ce titre de créance au souscripteur. Une obligation est dite convertible lorsque le titre de créance est assorti de la possibilité, pour le souscripteur, d'échanger l'obligation en actions de la société émettrice. Dans le cas de HO KARAN vous avez une rémunération à un taux d’intérêt de 6% et un remboursement en 5 ans avec une option pour convertir en actions.

L’OCA, qui se situe donc entre dette et fonds propres, est désignée comme du quasi fonds propres.

L’émission d’obligations convertibles présente donc l'avantage d'injecter de la trésorerie rapidement pour remettre de l’eau dans le moulin dans l’attente d’un puissant coup d’accélérateur (ici l’ouverture de notre centre de soins).

LITA.co ne propose les OCA qu’aux PME matures et aux start-ups à fort potentiel.

 

5/ Prêter responsable tout en percevant des intérêts

Si pour les entrepreneurs l’OCA a ses avantages, elle constitue aussi un atout côté investisseur. Dès la première année, l’investissement est rémunéré par des intérêts obligataires et offre par ailleurs de meilleures perspectives de rentabilité en cas de conversion. En effet, les plus-values en actions ne sont ni limitées, ni prédéterminées. Toutefois, il demeure un risque non négligeable pour l’investisseur puisque des incertitudes persistent sur les contours de la conversion (faisabilité de la levée en capital, valorisation, identité des co-investisseurs et date de conversion demeurent encore inconnus).

Si aucune conversion n’a finalement lieu, les investisseurs sont rémunérés suivant la logique de l’obligation sèche. À cela s’ajoute une prime de non-conversion, versée à l’issue de la période de remboursement, en dédommagement de la perte de plus-value potentielle. Dans le cas de HO KARAN la prime de non-conversion est de 1%. Elle vient s’ajouter au 6% d’intérêts.

 

6/ Souhaitons-nous convertir les obligations en actions ?

Si le centre est très performant financièrement et permet de rembourser rapidement l’emprunt aux porteurs d’obligations, nous ne convertirons pas les obligations en actions, et nous vous paierons une prime supplémentaire de non conversion de 1%. Nous ne convertirons pas non plus si l’entreprise HO KARAN au global est amenée dans les 18 prochains mois à réaliser une levée de fonds en capital pour accélérer sa croissance.

 

7/ Dans quel cas pourrions-nous choisir la conversion ?

Si nous avons besoin de renforcer nos fonds propres pour par exemple accéder à des aides, subventions, ou des prêts de croissance auprès de la Banque Publique d’Investissement (BPI) qui est en cours de modification de sa politique vis-à-vis du chanvre. Dans tous les cas, la conversion ou non se fera en concertation avec Lita, sur des critères définis au préalable dans la documentation juridique que vous recevrez.

 

8/ Quels sont les droits associés aux OCA ?

Une obligation ne confère pas de droit de vote. En tant qu'investisseur, vous êtes néanmoins régulièrement informé sur l'évolution de la situation financière de l'entreprise.

 

9/ Quelle communication aurais-je de la part de HO KARAN ?

Nous communiquerons à nos investisseurs citoyens nos chiffres, nos axes de développement, nos coups durs, nos succès. Et vous, vous vivrez une expérience entrepreneuriale à nos côtés, en partageant vos conseils et vos encouragements.

 

10/ Quelles sont les garanties sur la plateforme Lita ?

Labellisé par Finansol, certifié B-Corp, agréé par l’AMF et immatriculé en tant que Conseiller en Investissement Participatif par l'ORIAS au numéro 15000159 en date du 09 Janvier 2015, LITA.co est à la fois une entreprise solidaire reconnue d'utilité sociale (ESUS) et une référence en matière d'investissement éthique. LITA.co a pour mission de démocratiser l’investissement responsable en orientant l’épargne des particuliers vers le financement d’entreprises porteuses d’innovations sociales et durables. L'ambition est de participer activement et efficacement à réduire les inégalités en offrant à tous l'opportunité de donner du sens à son épargne et d'investir dans des entreprises comme HO KARAN sélectionnées sur des critères d’impact social, de responsabilité et de potentiel économique (plus d'informations ici). Pour pouvoir réaliser notre levée de fonds sur leur plateforme, les équipes de Lita ont procédé à un audit poussé et exigeant de la situation financière, du plan de développement et de l’impact environnemental et social de HO KARAN, puis 2 comités ont validé notre dossier. Depuis 3 ans, ils retiennent seulement 6% des entreprises candidates.

 

11/ Je souhaite investir, pourquoi dois-je répondre à autant de questions sur mon patrimoine ?

LITA.co est une plateforme d’investissement participatif et non pas une plateforme de don comme Ulule ou Kiss Kiss Bank Bank. Dans ce cadre, la plateforme est soumise à la réglementation bancaire et ses actions sont régulées par l’AMF (Autorité des marchés financiers). Les données demandées sont strictement confidentielles et déclaratives. LITA.co n’a pas d’obligation à vérifier les données. Lors de l’inscription, il n’est pas obligatoire de répondre à l’intégralité des questions posées sur la provenance des revenus et le patrimoine. Vous pouvez tout à fait émettre une intention d’investissement sans y répondre. Mais il faudra y répondre si vous souhaitez avoir accès au dossier d’investissement et au moment d’investir.